DRHC Dubai Medical Nutrition Clinic

Gluten Free Diet at DRHC Dubai

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale (across between rye and wheat)

What is a gluten-free diet?

It is a diet that excludes the protein gluten.

A gluten-free diet is a treatment for celiac disease. Some people who don't have celiac disease also may have symptoms when they eat gluten, however, this is called non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

People with non-celiac gluten sensitivity may benefit from a gluten-free diet. But people with celiac disease must be gluten-free to prevent symptoms and disease-related complications.

Allowed foods


  • Many healthy and delicious foods are naturally gluten-free
  • Fish and seafood
  • Fresh egg
  • Fresh meat
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Most dairy products
  • Beans, lentils, seeds, nuts
  • Rice, quinoa, soy, teff, millet, corn, amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, flax, sorghum, tapioca

Always avoid

Avoid all food and drinks containing:

  • Barley (malt, malt flavoring, and malt vinegar are usually made from barley)
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Wheat (durum flour, farina, graham flour, semolina) 

Spelled Avoid unless labeled 'gluten-free'

In general, avoid the following foods unless they're labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:

  • Medicines, Vitamins, and Supplements
  • Beer
  • Breads
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Communion wafers
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Matzo
  • Pasta
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups and soup bases

Book An Appoinment

Dubai Nutrition Clinic at Dr Rami Hamed Center provides nutrition programs such as sports nutrition with nutrition specialists.